Passer aux informations produits
1 de 1

Midleton Distillery

Green Spot Irish Pot Still Whisky (750 ml)

Green Spot Irish Pot Still Whisky (750 ml)

Prix habituel $79.95 USD
Prix habituel Prix promotionnel $79.95 USD
En vente ÉpuisĂ©
Frais d'expédition calculés à l'étape de paiement.

En 1805, la Mitchell & Sons Wine Merchants Company a Ă©tĂ© crĂ©Ă©e au cƓur de Dublin, en Irlande. Au tournant du 19e siĂšcle, les Mitchell vendaient une gamme de whiskies irlandais sous le nom de "Spot". Ce nom provient de la pratique de l'entreprise consistant Ă  marquer des fĂ»ts d'Ăąges diffĂ©rents avec une tache de peinture colorĂ©e. En consĂ©quence, Mitchell & Sons a vendu des whiskies nommĂ©s Blue Spot, Yellow Spot et Red Spot, bien que Green Spot soit devenu leur marque la plus populaire.

Aujourd'hui, le whisky irlandais Green Spot Single Pot Still continue d'ĂȘtre fabriquĂ© au cƓur de l'Irlande. Le whisky est fabriquĂ© Ă  partir d'orge maltĂ© et non maltĂ©, qui sont broyĂ©s et Ă©crasĂ©s avant d'ĂȘtre distillĂ©s dans un alambic traditionnel. AprĂšs distillation, le whisky est vieilli dans une combinaison de fĂ»ts de chĂȘne amĂ©ricain qui servaient auparavant Ă  la maturation du bourbon (75 %) et de fĂ»ts de chĂȘne europĂ©en qui servaient auparavant Ă  la maturation du sherry (25 %). Une fois que le whisky a mĂ»ri pendant huit Ă  neuf ans, les fĂ»ts sont assemblĂ©s et mis Ă  l'Ă©preuve.

Le Green Spot Single Pot Still Irish Whiskey est sorti aux États-Unis en 2014. Il a Ă©tĂ© nommĂ© le meilleur spiritueux de 2012 par Serious Eats et est "incontestablement l'un des plus grands whiskies au monde" selon Jim Murray, auteur de la Bible du whisky.

Notes de dégustation :

Nez : Huiles aromatiques fraßches et épices avec des fruits du verger et de l'orge sur un fond de bois grillé.

GoĂ»t : Corps corsĂ© et Ă©picĂ©. Un soupçon de clou de girofle accompagnĂ© de la douceur fruitĂ©e de la pomme verte, arrondie par du chĂȘne grillĂ©.

Finale : Saveurs persistantes d'épices et d'orge.

Récompenses :

Ultimate Beverage Challenge : 92 points - Teinte orange brûlé brillante. Odeurs de pùte à pain, de fruits du verger pas mûrs, de cotonnade, de poivre blanc. Le profil de saveur présente plus de piquant qui est résolument acidulé et vibrant profondément dans la finition. Une bouchée de merveilleux..Mars/2015

Malt Advocate : 91 points - DĂ©roulez le tapis rouge, car Green Spot arrive en ville. Des pommes au four, des raisins secs Ă©picĂ©s, des pelouses verdoyantes et des fruits verts mĂ»rs accueillent le nez. Il est huileux, Ă©touffant et luxuriant, avec une profondeur de caractĂšre qui pointe sur le dos de la langue comme un nectar. Ce mĂ©lange de vanille lĂ©gĂšre, de caramel au beurre et de riz au lait crĂ©meux saupoudrĂ© de noix de muscade est paradisiaque. Si cela ne vous convainc pas de tomber amoureux du whisky irlandais "pot still", alors rien ne val. (ÉtĂ© 2014) Revu par : Jonny McCormick .Septembre/2014

 

Type:
Single Malt
Bottle size:
750mL
Distillery:
Midleton Distillery
Oak finish:
American Oak First Fill Bourbon Casks
ABV:
40%
Region:
Ireland
Afficher tous les détails

Skip to product information
1 of 1

Midleton Distillery

Green Spot Pot Still Irish Whiskey (750 mL)

Green Spot Pot Still Irish Whiskey (750 mL)

5.0
Rated 5.0 out of 5 stars
1 Review
Regular price $79.95 USD
Regular price Sale price $79.95 USD
Sale DOH - Out of Stock!
Shipping calculated at checkout.

In 1805, the Mitchell & Sons Wine Merchants Company was established in the heart of Dublin, Ireland. By the turn of the 19th century, the Mitchells sold a range of Irish whiskeys under the name "Spot." This name originated from the company's practice of marking casks of different ages with a spot of colored paint. As a result, Mitchell & Sons sold whiskies named Blue Spot, Yellow Spot and Red Spot, although Green Spot emerged as their most popular brand.

Today, Green Spot Single Pot Still Irish Whiskey continues to be crafted in the heart of Ireland. The whiskey is made from malted and unmalted barley, which are milled and mashed before being distilled through a traditional pot still. Following distillation, the whiskey is matured in a combination of American oak casks that were previously used to mature bourbon (75%) and European oak casks that were previously used to mature sherry (25%). Once the whiskey has matured for eight to nine years, the casks are blended together and brought to proof.

Green Spot Single Pot Still Irish Whiskey was released in the United States in 2014. It was named the top spirit of 2012 by Serious Eats, and is "unquestionably one of the world's greatest whiskies" according to Jim Murray, author of the Whisky Bible.

Tasting Notes:

Aroma: Fresh aromatic oils and spices with orchard fruits and barley on a background of toasted wood.

Palate: Full spicy body. A hint of cloves along with the fruity sweetness of green apples, rounded off with toasted oak.

Finish: Lingering flavours of spices and barley.

Awards:

Ultimate Beverage Challenge: 92 points - Brilliant burnt orange hue. Smells of bread dough, unripened orchard fruits, cotton fabric, white pepper. Flavor profile features more of the spiciness that’s assertively tangy and vibrant deep into the finish. A mouthful of wonderful..March/2015

Malt Advocate: 91 points - Roll out the red carpet, because Green Spot is coming to town. Baked apple, spiced sultanas, lush green lawns, and ripe green fruits greet the nose. It’s oily, smothering, and luxuriantly juicy, with a depth of character that tips over the back of the tongue like nectar. That melange of light vanilla, butterscotch, and creamy rice pudding sprinkled with nutmeg is heavenly. If this doesn’t persuade you to fall in love with Irish pot still whiskey, then nothing will. (Summer 2014) Reviewed by: Jonny McCormick .September/2014


Type:
Single Malt
Bottle size:
750mL
Distillery:
Midleton Distillery
Oak finish:
American Oak First Fill Bourbon Casks
ABV:
40%
Region:
Ireland
View full details
5.0
Rated 5.0 out of 5 stars
Based on 1 review
Total 5 star reviews: 1 Total 4 star reviews: 0 Total 3 star reviews: 0 Total 2 star reviews: 0 Total 1 star reviews: 0
100%would recommend this product
Rating
Ratings
How often do you drink whisk(e)y?
How often do you drink whisk(e)y?
What's your target bottle price-point when shopping for a bottle of whisk(e)y?
What's your target bottle price-point when shopping for a bottle of whisk(e)y?
1 review
  • Robert D.
    Verified Buyer
    Rated 5 out of 5 stars
    Apr 8, 2024
    Lovely finish

    I thought that it had a wonderful fruity body , smooth finish slightly smokey and not overbearing . Perfect whiskey for any ocassion

    AromaRated 5.0 on a scale of 1 to 5
    MouthfeelRated 0.0 on a scale of minus 2 to 2
    PalateRated 5.0 on a scale of 1 to 5
    Peaty/ SmokyRated -1.0 on a scale of minus 2 to 2
    FinishRated 2.0 on a scale of minus 2 to 2
    DrinkabilityRated 2.0 on a scale of minus 2 to 2
    Price ValueRated 4.0 on a scale of 1 to 5
    Likelyhood to purchase againRated 2.0 on a scale of minus 2 to 2
Reviews LoadedReviews Added