You are here


The largest whisky producing region

The Scottish Highlands include the rugged and mountainous regions of Scotland north and west of the Highland Boundary Fault, although the exact boundaries are not clearly defined, particularly to the east. Much of the Scottish Highlands area overlaps the Highlands and Islands area.

The Islands region is often confused with Islay, but the Islands region is in fact a separate whisky producing region consisting of the islands of Arran, Jura, Mull, Orkney, Shetlands and Skye.